House of Cards is Built to Stand

If you watched the State of the Union Address last night, congratulations. I did not. Instead of paying attention to perhaps the most important speech of the year, by the most important man on the planet, during arguably the most important presidential term the country has ever seen, I was binging on fake politics in House of Cards.

I know Netflix usually reserves its instant stream options for masterpieces such as Thankskilling (whose tagline is “WARNING! BOOBS in the first second!” – I checked, they weren’t lying), but in this case The ‘Flix has struck gold with its first ever original series.

Just in case you didn't believe me. Turns out there's multiple sequels too. Don't you just love America?

Just in case you didn’t believe me. Turns out there’s multiple sequels too. Don’t you just love America?

House of Cards follows congressman Francis Underwood (played by Kevin Spacey) as he manipulates his way through the nation’s capitol. He’s a ruthless, conniving snake who’s absolutely intoxicating, a more nuanced Walter White. I can’t decide if I love him or abhor him, but I know I have to watch him.

Produced by David Fincher (the guy who made The Social Network), the show is filled with good actors who you recognize but whose names you don’t know (at least I didn’t), and their characters are fascinating, complicated, and compelling.

Look, I’m not a TV critic. I’m hardly even a writer. But I know the feeling I get when a show is about to take over the next week of my life. So if you’re one of the seven Americans who don’t have access to Netflix, create a fake E-mail account pronto for a free month and trim that number by one.

Leave a Reply

